Tree of Knowledge

The Tree of Knowledge

Ajna Chakra: The seat of the guru

“Human birth is a rare blessing. Therefore you need to make the effort to achieve Self-realisation. Don’t wait, do it now.”
Avadhoot Nityananda Baba

Among the six charkas, the Ajna Chakra between the two eyebrows holds a special significance. Referred to as Trikuti, this chakra is the seat of the guru. There are two petals, yoga nadis, on each side of this chakra and the spiritual vibrations that emanate from these subtle nadis correspond to Sanskrit letters that mean So Ham, I Am That. The sixth chakra is called Ajna, which in Sanskrit means it is located between the eyebrows and is commonly known as the third eye. Within the symbolic representation of the Ajna centre is the syllable OM which represents the beginning and end of all things. It is from this centre that a person harmonizes the forces within him/herself and achieves a balance between Yin and Yang.
The third eye radiates a deep blue that in the developed personality borders on violet. It functions as the central point where different flows of Prana meet and are distributed. (Sushunma branches through it, and the Ida and Pingala go right through it after they branch off to the nostrils.) The chakra has control over seeing, not only in the physical sense but in the mystical sense of seeing into the higher planes; intuitive seeing, clairvoyance and the other paranormal forms of knowing. And when active, the seat of Divine Intelligence. The Ajna centre controls all higher mental activities. This includes intuitive thought, rational thought and memory. Intuitive thought includes all forms of paranormal activity.

When the sixth chakra is active, consciousness and unconsciousness merge and whatever gulf there was beforehand is permanently abolished. Integration becomes complete and a person sees himself as the union of selves, the I AM. A person in this condition remembers and experiences himself at every stage of his life from the cradle upwards, and he remembers all those individual energy fields that combined to create his particular energy field, including those two most important fields “mother and father”. Because his remembrance is complete, he can go beyond the point of terror, beyond the moment he first experienced separation from the universal field to a time when there was only union and unconditional love.

When you hold your hands over your eyes or simply close your eyes and become aware of the area around the eyebrow centre, you see sparks of light, like the twinkling of stars; maybe large pulsating white light or a circle of coloured light. In sleep you can see your dreams; in meditation your visions. Sometimes, the most wonderful poetry seems to pour through the mind or, when you are working and working on a problem until completely fatigued, you resign; then in a flash, with the power of the sun, the solution strikes you. All these phenomena involve the function of subtle states of mind beyond the level of everyday waking consciousness. The link between consciousness and these types of phenomena is through the ajna chakra. It is during deep meditation on this chakra that it can be actually perceived in a form which various yogis have described similarly. During the practice of Kundalini yoga, the awakening of man’s latent psychic energy occurs and the full glory of the colours, forms, structures, and functions of the chakras is experienced.

Ajna chakra is the best known of all the chakras. As it is a subtle centre in the body it defies vivisection and incision by the doctor’s scalpel, and for this reason the sceptic can always deny the possibility of the existence of such a subtle centre. From ancient times rishis, munis and yogis have been saying that meditation leads to peace of mind and has always been associated with the spiritual quest. Yogis, who are scientists of the subtle mind, have always spoken of telepathy as siddhi, a psychic power for thought communication and clairaudience, etc. The medium of such siddhis is the ajna chakra, and its physical terminus is the pineal gland, which is connected to the brain. It has been stated by great yogis such as Swami Sivananda that the pineal gland is the receptor and sender of the subtle vibrations which carry thoughts and psychic phenomena throughout the cosmos. The pineal gland converts brain waves into subtle electrical impulses travelling faster than the speed of light, which are stored in the individual brain. Persons who have developed such faculties as subtle hearing and sight have done so by virtue of the ajna chakra.

Ajna Meditation: To begin the Ajna meditation, find a comfortable position with your back straight. Close your eyes and begin breathing deeply through your nose without separation between inhalation and exhalation, and feel yourself relaxing. Take your time and become conscious of your body by following your breath for about five minutes. After five minutes, bring your attention to your sixth chakra, between your eyebrows. Then bring your breath to your sixth chakra. On each inhalation feel the energy centred in your third eye grow stronger. You will feel it as a heat and intensity which will grow stronger on each inhalation. As it grows more powerful, visualize the energy there as a ball of indigo light. Experience and visualize it growing stronger and brighter for about two or three minutes. Then feel your consciousness move upward until it reaches a point between your eyebrows and feel your consciousness centred in the ball of energy. Then become the ball of energy and feel yourself radiating from that centre through your body and into the outer environment.

Feel yourself as the union of selves. Feel your mind radiate in all directions simultaneously and feel yourself fill the room with your consciousness. Pay attention to how you feel physically, emotionally and mentally. The more you are centred in the third eye, the more complete will be the union between consciousness and unconsciousness. In this condition you will feel what seems like an electrical current running through your physical body, and your entire head will begin to glow with the centre of this fire being the third eye. Take at least ten minutes for this part of the meditation. After ten minutes, or when you are satisfied, take a deep breath through your nose and as you exhale mentally repeat, “Every time I come to this level of consciousness, I learn to use more of my mind in more creative ways.” Then let your breathing return to normal, release the ball of energy by your sixth chakra and the imagery associated with it and mentally return to the room and relax. After a few moments begin to count mentally from one to five and when you reach the number five, open your eyes. You will feel wide awake, perfectly relaxed and better than you did before.  

Excerpts from:
– An article by Anup Taneja, an editor with the Indian Council of Historical Research, and
– “Ajna Chakra” by Swami Nityabodhananda, disciple of Swami Satyananda Saraswati

You are welcome to contribute. Write to:

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.